Conservation Areas are areas of notable environmental or historical interest or importance which is protected by law against undesirable changes. These areas are conserved by varying levels of legal protection which are given by the policies formulated by the government or global conventions.

Tiger Reserves

Project Tiger was launched by the Government of India in the year 1973 to save the endangered species of tiger in the country.  Starting from nine (9) reserves in 1973-2016 the number is grown up to fifty (50).  A total area of 71027.10 km2 is covered by these project tiger areas.

Elephant Reserves

The Indian elephant Elephasmaximus occurs in the central and southern Western Ghats, North-east India, eastern India and northern India and in some parts of southern peninsular India. It is included in Schedule I of the Indian Wildlife (Protection) Act, 1972 and in Appendix I of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Flora and Fauna (CITES). It occurs in 16 of the 28 states in the country and is showing an increasing trend across its distributional range. Its population in 2007 was estimated to be in the range from 27,657 to 27,682, whereas in 2012 the population was estimated to be between 27,785 and 31,368. There are 30 Elephant reserves in India. 

Biosphere Reserves

Biosphere reserves are sites established by countries and recognized under UNESCO's Man and the Biosphere (MAB) Programme to promote sustainable development based on local community efforts and sound science. The programme of Biosphere Reserve was initiated by UNESCO in 1971. The purpose of the formation of the biosphere reserve is to conserve in situ all forms of life, along with its support system, in its totality, so that it could serve as a referral system for monitoring and evaluating changes in natural ecosystems.

There are 18 Biosphere reserve in India.

RAMSAR Wetland Sites

The Ramsar Convention is an international treaty for the conservation and sustainable utilization of wetlands, recognizing the fundamental ecological functions of wetlands and their economic, cultural, scientific, and recreational value. India currently has 27 sites designated as Wetlands of International Importance (Ramsar Sites), with a surface area of 1,056,871 hectares.

World Heritage Sites

A UNESCO World Heritage Site is a place that is listed by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization as of special cultural or physical significance.There are 7 Natural World Heritage Site and 28 Cultural World Heritage sites in India.

Source and for More details :

Important Bird Areas (IBAs)

Birds are excellent indicators of ecosystem health. The IBA programme of Birdlife International aims to identify, monitor and protect a global network of IBAs for conservation of the world's birds and associated biodiversity. The IBAs serve as conservation areas for protection of birds at the global, regional or sub-regional level.

There are 554 IBAs in India.

Rahmani et al. 2016. "Important Bird and Biodiversity Areas in India" . Bombay Natural History Society Mumbai and BirdLife International and RSPB, UK